Blogging off-line

So I’ve really been getting into this blogging thing. I have been keeping my family and friends up to date with all my family goings-on on a private blog, as well as spouting off about whatever comes to mind here, plus talking about things in the ColdFusion world over at Luna-Tech. I’ve even got a little project in the works that I’m not ready to announce.

One difficulty is that the inspiration to write something often strikes when I am not in a place where I can do anything about it. I can’t do much about it from work, of course, and my best place for downtime is while commuting on the train. It doesn’t look like the Maryland Transit Administration will be adding wireless Internet access on the trains any time soon.

I’ve been looking for an off-line option. Paper and pencil seems so…primitive. I couldn’t bring myself to do that. I have my Palm PDA with me all the time, of course, but that small stylus and the character recognition is actually slower than writing on paper, and neither are able to keep up with my brain.

I’m trying out a couple of off-line blog tools. First up is Qumana. So far so good. It’s a WYSIWYG editor and has the typical formatting tools: bold, italic, blockquote. It knows how to log into about a dozen different types of blog software. It also happens to make adding advertisements very easy (and that appears to be their business model). Next I’ll be trying w.bloggar. Zoundry looks interesting, as it also makes it easy to include ads and is kind of a universal “affiliate” program. I don’t know if I’ll go that far, though.

Powered by Qumana

Published by

Wrathchild

Geek. Gamer. Dad. Husband. Beer drinker. Football fan. Blogger.

Leave a Reply

