How to motivate geeks

I recently posted about someone’s tips for how not motivate geeks in the workplace.

As a counterpoint, Retrospector.com offers the Top 10 Ways to Motivate Geeks.

Briefly, they are:

  1. Geeks are curious. Let them feed their desire to learn things.
  2. Geeks like to be self-sustaining. Let them figure things out on their own.
  3. Geeks are creative even if they don’t know it. Give them a chance.
  4. Geeks need tools, good ones. Give them more than they need.
  5. Private, yet collaborative. Geeks need to be left alone, but not too alone.
  6. Free stuff. T-shirts, food, desktop widgets, whatever.
  7. Control
  8. Geeks need recognition
  9. Freedom
  10. Compensation

As I was reading this article, I was struck by how the jobs I’ve loved in the past did much of this, while those that I couldn’t stand did not. (The current day job does a few of these pretty well. Others…not so much.)

How about your job? What do they do to feed and/or starve your geek?

(Via Lifehacker)

Published by

Wrathchild

Geek. Gamer. Dad. Husband. Beer drinker. Football fan. Blogger.

3 thoughts on “How to motivate geeks”

  1. Ah, yes. When I started at a little Internet development house (since consumed and gutted by a large corporation) they were showing me around and, when we went past the free coffee, I believe I remarked: “Ah, developer food.”

    Alas, I’ve had to cut back quite a bit on my caffeine intake. Makes me too nuts and messes with my moods too much. Which is a real shame, because I love coffee.

Leave a Reply

